Dale Farm: Common sense should prevail says Green Party

by

The Green Party is disappointed at the announcement that the eviction at Dale Farm should go ahead despite the ten years of wrangling over the site and the apparent refusal of Basildon Council to find alternative sites.

The Homes and Communities Agency have offered alternative land in Basildon, subject to planning permission but Basildon Council will not halt the eviction until the planning issues have been resolved.

The cost to the tax payer is estimated to be over £18 million to evict 400 travellers, most of whom have nowhere else to go. Children have been settled in local schools for over a decade and this eviction will ensure that their education is disrupted.

Penny Kemp, Environment Spokesperson for the Green Party, said ”Common sense should prevail. This site is owned by the travellers, planning permission has been granted for half the site and the other half, home to more than 400 people does not have the requisite planning permission. As the residents have said that they are prepared to move to an alternative site, and there is another site in the wings, I cannot understand the problem.”

She continued, ”The Government and Local Authorities have a duty to respect and facilitate the gypsy and traveller way of life, and to improve the well-being of children. It would appear that this is not the case at Dale Farm.

“Whilst the Green Party believes that the planning system is the correct mechanism to determine planning issues and we are contributing to the Government’s planning reform consultation paper, we feel in the case of Dale Farm, a more sensitive approach would be helpful especially as there are potential alternative sites in the area.”

One Response to “Dale Farm: Common sense should prevail says Green Party”

  1. Will Says:

    I am sad to see this stance, the law is the law, they have had ten years to find homes and places on sites, they choose to live there against the law, any problems that come from a forced eviction are brought upon their children and old ill people themselves by not moving out now, they could hit the council in force tomorrow and go to the housing department and ask for them to home them, then it becomes a genuine council problem.
    Its not an issue about money or how long they have managed to escape and play games with the law, even if it cost £100,000000 to enforce the law it would need to be spent, if a murderer every day for ten years would we say, well he got away with it for this long so lets save the money and just let him get on with it? No we would insist on him being prosecuted to the full extent of the law, if these travellers feel so agreived with English justice and law, heavy handed eviction and out normal society then why not drive to a ferry port and go back to Ireland? why put the child at risk? the law just wants what is right.
    I live 20 miles away from my family, friends and job, there is no bus sevice to get me from town to town, nor direct trains either, also my job starts at 6am and the earliest public transport gets me there at 9:30am, I have just lost my driving licence on medical grounds and the coucil will not house me even though I have been on the list for 2 years, my MP has written as it seems silly I am issolated from my family and will lose my job as I cannot get there, all of that sucks but equally I know I cannot just get in a caravan and go live there, even if I or my family own the land, their neighbor complained when another one had their daughter living in a caravan on their own drive due to space in the house, they got an enforcment notice.
    My old boss built a house in the grounds of his pub, cost him £100,000 but as the builder screwed up the plans the council knocked it down, it all sucks but it is the law and we all have to live with it.
    The travellers are not being killed off, no one picking on them, we keep seeing planning stats but they failed to mention it in context, they very often apply after they have moved onto a site that is not suitable, its cheap land as it not meant to be used for development, if they are so concerned about getting proper permission through planning then buy some land at full value and with some jope of getting the planning through before they move onto it, stop trying to cheat the system and do it on the cheap.
    They have taken the mickey out of the UK justice system long enough, time to give up, please see sense if not for yourself but for the little ones you keep shoving in front of cameras, and if the coucil housing department cannot put you in temp housing or sites then take a TV crew and make a genuine case then, no one is going to build me a house where I need and want to live so why should they them? I have worked all my life and paid much tax, my reward is a bedsit that I private rent and less than many I know who have never lifted a finger, but hay thats life.

    And as I see the Greens are supporting the breaking of UK law I suppose I will not be ever voting for them.

Leave a Reply

